Idea development

At the start of week 2 I came down with a dose of the flu, this put me back in my progress of idea generation, and any subsequent research that may have come with these ideas. The more I put off researching and developing new ideas the more concerned I became about not being able to come up with an idea I felt passionate about, but one that I also felt could be flexible, not to mention plausible.

I had originally thought about trying to create an interactive music station, one that would have used sensors to detect to the movement of fingers to tricker a note to be played, giving the audience the experience of playing an instrument with out actually knowing how to play it. One thing that inspired this idea was a video of orchestra set up in the middle of the street, who are waiting for pedestrians to conduct them. The joy and excitement you see on the pedestrians face made me thing about how exciting it was for me the first time I played music, I want to try to replicate that for others.

However the more I began to develop on the idea the more complicated it become in my head and the less I could get down on paper.

In our first Project Management class in week 2, we were asked a few simple questions about what play meant to us, as first music came to mind, but being as unconfident in my original idea I asked myself the same questions again, this time not allowing myself to rely simply on music as a quick and easy answer.

What does play mean to me? Play to mean can mean many things, It can be playing an instrument, it could mean play with a game or toy, play around with an animal, play Cards or other gambling games, but one idea that stuck in my mind was playing to flirt. As a adult i find I don’t play as much as I could but one way I do play is when I play flirt with the opposite sex… this seemed like a topic that could be interesting and interactive no matter the audience.

The idea what as adults we feel like we have to be in a confined place to play made me think about how much I use to love building and playing in forts, and what a shame it was we couldn’t still build and play in forts… or can we? Who says that as students/adults we can’t just steal away a few mins of ours lives to play in a fort? This brought more questions to my mind, like; would adults/students WANT to play in a fort? If so, what would we want to play even if we got to play in a fort?

This again brought about the idea of the play flirt, I liked the idea but I didn’t want to add it in just because I liked it. This brought me around to thinking about all the different ways that we play over the course of our lives, from childhood in to our teens then into our adults lives. I had a hard time deciding about whether it would be better to have the child only fort, but after thinking about it logically, i came to the conclusion that some things might be offensive to some, so its better off child friendly.

Where and when do I play, w hen and where do other students and adults play? I generally only play around when i’m in private, with close friends or family. In other words in an place I feel I am comfortable and won’t be judge by any on lookers. After asking around, and speaking to other students I got a similar answer from many of them as well. Some where between childhood and adulthood we loose our free spirits and become so consumed by our fear of what others will think of us that we have to hide away to play… but what if we could relive all the best ‘plays’ we have in life in just a few mins?

I then asked myself what games would I want to play if I had a fort? My favorite childhood games that came to mind were, hop scotch, puzzles, coloring and barbies with cars.

Once I had a bit more of a defined idea of what play meant to me, and almost more importantly, what play meant to others.  From this point on I began mentally constructing a large, enclosed fort, with blankets for walls, brightly painted doors, pillows and t.v. screens on the walls ,and of course, loads of games to play.

Inspiration for what the fort could look like, although I would like mine to be big enough for adults to stand in, along side their own kids possibly.

Inspiration for what the fort could look like, although I would like mine to be big enough for adults to stand in, along side their own kids possibly.

I instantly began developing ways make my favorite games as a kid an interactive multimedia experience that would hopefully bring back those joyous moments of my childhood.

Inspiration for hop scotch, I would like to make this interactive as well, but just haven't quite figured out how...

Inspiration for hop scotch, I would like to make this interactive as well, but just haven’t quite figured out how…

This is an almost identical mat to the one i had as a kid, if I could transfer this format to an animation and have it playing on a screen, any one could drive their toy car along the screen as if it was really on the road.

This is an almost identical mat to the one i had as a kid, if I could transfer this format to an animation and have it playing on a screen, any one could drive their toy car along the screen as if it was really on the road.

I have links for inspiration for both digital and interactive coloring and puzzles.

= Colouring

= Puzzle

Improve Everywhere. (2013) Conduct Us, Improve Everywhere available: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5_cbnBak8RI [29,September,2014]

Tom Van Learhoven. (2009) FluidPaint: An Interactive Digital Painting System using Real Wet Brushes, FluidPaint available: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fkl782OqqmA  %5B29,September,2014%5D

Enon Landenberg. (2012) The Coca-Cola Zero Video Puzzle, Coke Zero available: http://www.digitalbuzzblog.com/the-coca-cola-zero-video-puzzle/ %5B29,September,2014%5D

Classical Fun. (2011) Hopscotch Math [online] available: http://classicalfun.wordpress.com/2011/05/24/hopscotch-math/ %5B29,September,2014%5D

Things to do with kids. (2014) Have a stuffed animal party and play music [online] available: http://thingstodowithkids.com/ [29,September,2014]

Zen Seeker. (2013) Road rugs and carpets [online] available: http://zenseeker.net/Kid/PlaySurfaces-RoadRugs.htm %5B29,September,2014%5D

Standard

Leave a Reply

